Summer Booknotes from Our Staff – Fiction

Orientation and Other Stories
by Daniel Orozco (Faber and Faber)

From start to finish, Orozco’s stories unfold in brisk and thoughtful patterns. Like the accelerated time-lapse photography of millions of cells coming in and out of existence, they are mesmerizing. The reader is held rapt from the hyper-detailed, twisted delivery of an office worker’s first day in the title story “Orientation,” to the three-tiered perspective of what it is to be alive (or not) in “Only Connect,” to the whip-like unwinding of the consequences of a great California earthquake in “Shakers.” Orozco throws it all into the pot and comes at you with some of the most innovative stories around. -Shannon

Daniel Orozco reads from Orientation and Other Stories at 7:00pm this evening at the bookstore. If you can’t make it to tonight’s reading and would like a signed copy of Orientation, call us at (206) 624-6600 or toll free at 1-800-962-5311.


Ten Thousand Saints
by Eleanor Henderson (Ecco)

It’s 1987, and two malcontent youths are smoking pot from a Coke can under the bleachers at Lintonburg’s big event: a high-school football game. Jude and Teddy are outcasts, the former an adopted son of two estranged 1970s parents, the latter abandoned by his alcoholic mother. Henderson writes a coming-of-age tale of two punks as they cope with friendship, addiction, girls, pregnancy, death, AIDS, indifferent guardians, and their hope to start a hardcore band. Ten Thousand Saints is a window into youth-punk culture from small town Vermont to New York City’s CBGB. –Alex


Centuries of June
by Keith Donohue (Crown)

Centuries of June proves that Keith Donohue, author of The Stolen Child and Angel of Destruction, is a narrative chameleon. In the middle of the night, our hapless narrator, Jack, is beaned on the head in his bathroom. While he collects his wits and susses out the situation, he is accosted by eight disgruntled, ghostly women. Each tells her story and locks onto Jack as the surrogate for the man who let her down. Fans of David Mitchell and Italo Calvino might recognize his genre-bending technique, but will discover here a master storyteller at the top of his game. -Leighanne


Booknotes, the newsletter of The Elliott Bay Book Company, is written entirely by bookstore staff. It represents a sampling of recently published books that we have enjoyed reading. We appreciate every opportunity to assist in finding books to meet your interests.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s