Spring Booknotes from Our Staff – Children’s & YA

Oh No, George!

by Chris Haughton (Candlewick)

When the young boy goes out, he leaves his dog George home alone and asks him to be good. But when George sees his favorite food is he able to resist? When George spots the cat will he give him chase? Will George dig in the dirt? When the boy comes home and finds George has not been good he takes George for a walk, and George is again faced with the same temptations. Can he be good this time? The bright, child-like art of this funny picture book will have kids smiling as George tries his best to meet the challenge to be good. -Holly

Magritte’s Marvelous Hat

by D.B. Johnson (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

For those who love the paintings of René Magritte this lovely and surreal new picture book is certain to please. “Everything we see hides another thing, we always want to see what is hidden by what we see,” the famous artist is quoted as saying, and that is certainly true for this imaginative tale of a painting dog who buys a wondrous new bowler hat. Two sets of special see-through pages create simple magic, and the major art of the main character’s celebrated namesake figures prominently throughout with a humorous canine twist. Take a look! -David

The Book of Perfectly Perilous Math

by Sean Connolly (Workman)

Can you survive Pizza Peril and not lose your new job? Or death by Zombies on The Rope Bridge? You can with a bit of thinking and some advice from your old pal Euclid. This collection of math word problems will entertain and engage as adventurers use math skills to escape dire situations. Plenty of space is provided to work out the problem (and hints on what skills are needed too). The solution isn’t merely laid out at the end of the chapter but worked out in a math lab that translates the principles involved into a hands-on experiment. Fun math tips and tricks are peppered throughout the book too. Make friends with your inner math nerd! -Holly

A Greyhound of a Girl

by Roddy Doyle (Amulet)

Roddy Doyle is a writer who never disappoints me. Doyle’s story is of twelve-year-old Mary O’Hara, her mother Scarlett, her Granny, and a mysterious woman Mary meets named Tansey. Tansey, in fact, turns out to be the ghost of Mary’s Great Grandmother. The story is full of humor and sentiment that touches one’s heart. Doyle writes dialogue like no other, sharp and humorous. His characters grab life and embrace it with all their being. I loved this book and you will too. Read it to the family. -Greg

Grave Mercy

by Robin LaFevers (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

In the 1400s, Brittany was still its own country, constantly fighting off France’s relentless advances. In Robin LaFevers’s fearless new fantasy, all that stands between Brittany’s freedom and its subjugation is a gaggle of nuns at a convent. But these women are not what they seem; sworn handmaidens of the god of death, they are highly trained assassins. On her first mission, seventeen-year-old Ismae is sent to bring a traitor to justice, but what seems a simple kill is just the first snowfall of an avalanche of betrayal and treachery. Fans of Graceling and The Hunger Games will lose themselves in LaFevers’s gorgeous mythology. -Leighanne

The Great Cake Mystery

by Alexander McCall Smith (Anchor)

Great detectives are born, as is the case with Precious Ramotswe, founder of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, the highly popular adult mystery series. In her very first case, after a piece of cake and other food goes missing at her school one of Precious’s classmates is accused of thievery. But Precious is not convinced of who the thief is and vows to uncover the true culprit. Young readers will be introduced to the clever mind and good heart of this beloved character while being introduced to the landscape and culture of Africa. -Holly

Booknotes, the newsletter of The Elliott Bay Book Company, is written entirely by bookstore staff. It represents a sampling of recently published books that we have enjoyed reading. We appreciate every opportunity to assist in finding books to meet your interests.

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s