Different Ways to Say I Love You with a Book

We had so much fun finding the right #ebbcobookmatch for people on Twitter the other day, we’ve decided no gift to says I love you better than a book (and, while we really must acknowledge our bias here, we do think books are the best). Along that line, here are a few books that say I love you…in some very different ways….

The Book:Today Is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life by Ulli Lust

What It Says: Let’s run away, even if it’s only for a day — call in sick to work, skip school, and go out into the world to play. It’s boring being a grown-up, and wouldn’t it be grand if we cast off all our responsibilities and played hooky. Just you and me. Just for today.

The Book: Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse by Max Brallier

What It Says: I adore you and think I want you on my side during the zombie apocalypse, but I need you to go through this book and tell me your results before we actually get serious. Also, I love when you speak. I love the way the sound of you changes when you read aloud; it makes me so very happy (I am especially fond of when you do voices).

The Book: I Like You by Sandol Warburg

What It Says: I like you. I like you a lot. I like you for so many reasons. And I even like you when you don’t like you. Because you’re likable.

The Book: The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

What It Says: I love you and realize how fleeting and beautiful life is, that it’s not always the easiest…but when I’m with you, it’s always worth it, and I think I want to spend it with you, no matter what comes.

The Book: The Guest Cat by Takashi Hiraide

What It Says: I like my love to hurt a little, with that ping of wow and ow that great beauty brings, and the pain you make me feel is beeeee-uuuu-teeful!

The Book: Lonely Planet’s Beautiful World

What It Says: Love is an adventure! I’m all about love! And I’m all about adventures! We should probably actually read this book while we’re on an adventure. Because that’s love, right? I’m thinking Peru. Are you thinking Peru? Mountain climbing? Are you packed yet? Maybe we should just go outside RIGHT NOW.

The Book: Little Bird by Germano Zullo

What It Says: You feed my spirit and mind with your love. This book should do to you what you do to me every day of our lives. Because you are magic. And so is this book.

The Book: The Doubtful Guest by Edward Gorey

What It Says: You are one strange little person. You are weird and wild and odd. That way you stare at nothing, or people, or flies, is weird — you know that right? Everything about you — downright strange… Maybe stranger still, though, is that I can’t imagine my life without you, so I hope you never leave or normalize.

Alright, what book are you getting, giving, buying, sighing over that expresses your love?

Leave a Reply

